top of page

Satguru Nanak Ji

ਸਤਿਗੁਰੁ ਨਾਨਕੁ ਪ੍ਰਗਟਿਆ ਮਿਟੀ ਧੁੰਧੁ ਜਗਿ ਚਾਨਣੁ ਹੋਆ।

With the manifestation of Satguru Nanak, the fog cleared and the world was illuminated.

ਜਿਉ ਕਰਿ ਸੂਰਜੁ ਨਿਕਲਿਆ ਤਾਰੇ ਛਪਿ ਅੰਧੇਰੁ ਪਲੋਆ।

Just as the sun rises and the stars vanish, darkness dissipates.

(Bhai Gurdaas Ji Vaaran)

Satguru Nanak Ji is the first among the Gurus of the Sikhs. Guru Ji was born on the full moon day of Kattak in 1469 at Rai Bhoi di Talvandi (now Nankana Sahib, Pakistan) to Mata Tripta Ji and Pita Kalu Ji. The birth of Guru Ji is considered auspicious as they were born under the same star constellation as the previous incarnations of Sri Akaal Purakh (see Panth Parkash, Volume 1, Episode about the first Sikh Guru). Whoever came to have the blessed sight of Satguru Nanak was filled with spiritual ecstasy and joy. Such was the radiant manifestation of the incarnation of Sri Akaal Purakh.

At the tender age of 5, Guru Ji showed interest in spiritual matters. At 7, Pita Kalu Ji enrolled Guru Ji in school with the hope that they would excel in business. The teacher of Guru Nanak Ji was amazed by their profound explanation of the first letter resembling the numerical digit '1,' symbolizing the oneness of Sri Akaal Purakh.

Guru Ji married Mata Sulakhni Ji and had two children, Baba Sri Chand Ji and Lakhmi Chand Ji. Guru Ji embarked on numerous udasis (journeys) accompanied by Bhai Bala Ji and Bhai Mardana Ji. During these travels, Guru Ji spread the teachings of the Supreme One, Akaal Purakh, to people from all walks of life. Throughout their life, Guru Ji selflessly served humanity, transcending barriers of caste, religion, and ethnicity, for Guru Ji saw beyond mere labels and recognized the eternal oneness.

Guru Ji appointed Bhai Lehna Ji (Guru Angad Ji) as the successor Guru of the Sikhs. Guru Ji left their mortal form on 22 September 1539. Such was the greatness of Satguru Nanak Ji, who themselves were the embodiment of Sri Akaal Purakh in this universe. It is none other than Satguru Nanak Ji who manifested within the subsequent Gurus.

bottom of page